I have a dear friend who is turning 30 this weekend. I remember 30–I thought I was going to be super cool about it, but, well, when it came down to it, I wasn’t. I was well on my career path at 30, I had a great community and circle of friends, but I was single and was trying to convince myself I was happy about that. I had just gone through another failed relationship and was, in most respects, dealing pretty well, but the fact stood: I was single and others around me weren’t and I was convinced they were much more evolved than I was when it came to intimate relationships.

My 30-turning-friend is in the middle of a semi-breakdown about the turning of the clock out of her 29th year. I understand her freak-out. I’ve been there. And yet I see such an amazing, accomplished, together woman, who any man would be lucky to have.

It is an easy trap to fall down–or even to go chasing after. Personally, I am tired of this trap. I have been reminded again recently how much time I can spend on facebook looking at other people’s lives, convinced they are happier than I am, or more accomplished, or never feel loneliness like I do, or have it easier, or…you fill in the blank. Facebook is my road into this trap, and I hate it when I get all obsessive about it. In talking with others about this I realize that I am not the only one that experiences this.

The good thing is that God is still with me and you when we go down this awful comparison road. The psalmist tells us so:  “Where can I go from your spirit? Or where can I flee from your presence?  If I ascend to heaven, you are there; if I make my bed in Sheol, you are there.” So, while they might not be healthy places, wherever your particular might be, God is still there. Yet, I don’t think God really wants us to stay there.

For the psalmist also tells us that we are fearfully and wonderfully made–and if that is the case, then each and every journey we are on is in itself sacred and whole. No comparison necessary. No linear path exists. Thanks be to God.

